Government of Eritrea

 Government of Eritrean

The red triangle symbolizes the blood of the martyrs of the 30 year struggle for liberation. The green triangle symbolizes Eritrea’s fertile agriculture, and the blue triangle stands for the Red Sea and Eritrea’s maritime resources. Around a central branch (the nation revives, escaping her chains.)is a circle of olive branches with 30 leaves, one for each year struggle for independence.
The camel has been adopted as the National Emblem for its instrumental role in transporting supplies during the war for independence.
Country Name
Conventional; long form: State of Eritrea;
Conventional short form: Eritrea; Local long form: Hagere Ertra;
Capital city
Asmara (formerly Asmera)
Administrative Divisions
Six Regions:
Debub (Southern),
Debubawi Keih Bahri (Southern Red Sea),
Maekel (Central),
Southern Red Sea and Semienawi Keih Bahri (Northern Red Sea).
A Constitutional Commission established in 1994 drafted a constitution for the nation. On May 23rd 1997, a 527-member Constituent Assembly comprised of the 150 members of the provisional National Assembly, the elected representatives of the six Regional Assemblies and representatives from the diaspora ratified Eritrea’s first internally generated national constitution.
Legal System
Primary basis is the Ethiopian legal code of 1957, with revisions; New civil, commercial, and penal codes have not yet been promulgated; also it relies on customary and post-independence-enacted laws and, for Civil cases involving Muslims, Sharia law.
18 years of age; universal
Executive Branch
Cabinet: State Council is the collective executive authority.
Members of the cabinet are appointed by the president and approved by the National Assembly.
Legislative Branch
A 150-member National Assembly composed of 75 Central Committee members of the ruling PFDJ, together with 75 others (elected from the 527 member Constituent Assembly, that had been elected by the people in 1997 to discuss and ratify the new constitution), of whom at least 11 must be women, and 15 members representing Eritreans living abroad form the legislative branch of the democratic government of Eritrea. The National Assembly establishes the domestic and foreign policies of the government, regulates the State Council’s execution of these policies and approves the country’s budget. The National Assembly elects the president directly.
Judicial Branch
It is composed of High Court, regional courts, subregional and village courts. The judiciary Branch consists of courts at national level (Supreme or High Court), Regional level (10 provincial courts), and village levels (29 district courts). Special Sharia courts subjugate to the Muslim population, following Islamic Sharia law in family cases.
Int’l Organization: ACP, AfDB, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICCt (signatory), ICFTU, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS (associate), IGAD, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ISO (subscriber), ITU, NAM, OAU, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO.